FRA Education Foundation Announces 2012 Scholarship Recipients

FRAEFAlexandria, VA – The FRA Education Foundation proudly announces its scholarship recipients for 2012.  Funded through private donations, corporate sponsorships, established trusts and the Fleet Reserve Association (FRA), the foundation’s parent organization, the Foundation will award $128,000 in scholarships to 28 deserving students across the country who are pursuing their dreams of a college degree in the 2012-2013 academic year.

“We’re extremely proud to have increased our award total this year,” says Joe Barnes, FRA’s National Executive Director and a member of the Foundation’s Board of Directors. “And we’re sincerely grateful for the substantial gifts that make it possible for the Foundation to present these scholarships to service members, veterans and family members.”

More than 340 students applied for the annual scholarship program, in which recipients are selected based on financial need, academic standing, character and leadership qualities.  Established in 2009, the FRA Education Foundation works to advance FRA’s long-standing tradition of helping students reach their educational and professional goals.

All current and former members of the Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard are eligible to apply for Foundation scholarships, and members of the FRA, their spouses, children and grandchildren qualify for a broader range of awards, several of which are funded through member legacy donations. Applications for FRA’s 2013-2014 scholarships will be available at after September 1, 2012. In addition, the FRA Education Foundation is an approved charity eligible for contributions through the 2012 Combined Federal Campaign (Code 80236) later this year.

The recipients of FRA Education Foundation scholarship awards for 2012 are:

Glenn F. Glezen Scholarship ($5,000)
Sheila M. Davis, Bossier City, La.

Robert W. Nolan Scholarship ($5,000)
Johanna Lee Poon, Los Gatos, Calif.

Joseph R. Baranski Scholarship ($5,000)
Jill Gaitens, Virginia Beach, Va.

Fleet Reserve Association Awards ($5,000 each)
Shannon Kerley, Wantagh, N.Y.
Kali A. Murphy, Gilbertsville, N.Y.
Sara A. E. Mattingly, Prattville, Ala.
Travis M. Wells, Annapolis, Md.
Christina R. Breitenbuecher, Mill Valley, Calif.
Steffen W. Stroup, Bremerton, Wash.
James A. Manning, Wamego, Kans.
Madison K. Hoffman, Catawba, S.C.
Jonathan Yong Kim, Imperial Beach, Calif.

GEICO Scholarship ($5,000 each)
Brittany Sanders, Springfield, Mo.
Samantha E. James, Mobile, Ala.
Destinee Ann Vigil, San Angelo, Texas

GEICO Scholarship ($4,000)
Sarah D. Wennersten, Marysville, Wash.

Robert M. Treadwell Annual Scholarship ($5,000)
Alexander C. M. Menke, Bettendorf, Iowa

Stanley A. Doran Memorial Scholarship ($5,000)
Deborah G. Jodrey, Graham, N.C.

Colonel Hazel Benn Scholarship ($2,000 each)
Brian Bracht, Rensselaer, Ind.
Isaias J. Suarez, Jacksonville, Fla.

The Donald Bruce Pringle Family Scholarship ($5,000)
Kristen Zwicky, Pekin, Ill.

MCPO Ken E. Blair Scholarship ($5,000)
Kristopher R. L. Jackson, East Hartford, Conn.

Express Scripts Scholarship ($5,000 each)
Jay M. Turner, Ashby, Minn.

Express Scripts Scholarship ($3,000 each)
Leanza C. Tupfer, Benicia, Calif.

PhrMA Scholarship ($5,000)
Luca F. Valle, Spokane, Wash.

HealthNet ($5,000 each)
Laura J. Martin, Manheim, Pa.
Katharine I. Christovich, Woodbridge, Va.

Individual Contributions Scholarship ($2,000)
Shelby T. Murphy, Fulton, Md.

The FRA Education Foundation

The FRA Education Foundation provides academic scholarships to deserving students based on financial need, academic standing, and demonstrated leadership qualities. The Foundation is a 2012 Combined Federal Campaign-authorized charity (Code 80236) and partners with military and education professionals to promote life-long learning opportunities that help scholars reach their educational, professional and personal goals.  To learn more, visit or call 703-683-1400.